certification path for ethical hacking or penetration testing ?

security ethical hacking CEH GCIH GPEN CCNP CCNP (Security) CCNA (Security)

16 replies to this topic

#1 coolzaker

coolzaker

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 1 posts
  • 4 thanks

Posted 09 August 2012 - 03:12 PM

Hello everyone...

i am a young Student, I just completed my 4 years in my B.S in Information Technology and i wanna pursue a career in Penetration Testing. i wanna know how do we get there, which certifications to choose....??...........i talked to a training centre here in my city and they have convinced me to complete CCNA, CCNP, CCNA(Security), CCNP(Security) and then move to CEH or penetration testing.......and now i am just wondering whether i have to do CCNP R&S as well as CCNP Security to become a good penetration tester....or just CCNA is sufficient....i just want to know how to reach that post in d best manner n best way......

Thanked by 4 Members:
kaiosousa9 , fareedroshan , hgerman21 , vamshidharag

#2 Andy10

Andy10

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 18 posts
  • 419 thanks

Posted 23 August 2012 - 08:03 PM

You should have a good background of networking, operating systems, databases, web applications if you would like to pursue ethical hacking.
A CEH whilst well recognized provides u only an entry into the domain. There are other certs, such as OSCP that combine labs with the training. You could also create your own lab to get used to testing & breaking into stuff.
There are multitudes of security testing firms, you could probably attempt an internship in such firms.

Thanked by 1 Member:
hgerman21

#3 holinx

holinx

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 6 posts
  • 10 thanks

Posted 04 September 2012 - 09:32 AM

Hi,

Andy is right, certifications doesn't make you a good pentester. You must have an experience on networking and/or development and/or systems to specialize in the penetration testing field.