Jump to content


1
[Req]

looking for Juniper M-series recovery image



24 replies to this topic

#1 netxhh

netxhh

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 0 posts
  • 1 thanks

Posted 07 November 2012 - 04:09 PM

Hi, I have a Juniper (says M20 internal backbone router), it cannot boot up now. Does anyone have recovery image for M-series Juniper? Any version is ok, any size is ok (cf512, cf1024....). I tried J-series image, seems doesn't work. Thanks very much.

Thanked by 1 Member:
theoj06

#2 ExamFerret

ExamFerret

    Cisco TE

  • Super Moderators
  • 25 posts
  • 52274 thanks

Posted 07 November 2012 - 05:07 PM

Are you sure an image is what you need? M series recovery might be a little different: http://kb.juniper.net/InfoCenter/index?page=content&id=KB25939&actp=RSS  I can provide install packages.

Edited by ExamFerret, 07 November 2012 - 05:08 PM.

Do not post useless "thank you" post.

If you want to see the content of the hidden links
Please use the "Thanks" button as shown in the announcements
http://certcollection.org/forum/topic/99091-new-feature-added/

All following useless "thank you" will be removed.

Thanked by 1 Member:
shawnwalsh36

#3 netxhh

netxhh

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 0 posts
  • 1 thanks

Posted 07 November 2012 - 05:33 PM

The link is using a USB but my M20 has no USB port (I think M20 is too old), or at least I cannot find one USB port anywhere. It only has a PCMICIA slot at rear side. Now it keeps dispaying "Trying to boot from PCMCIA Flash Card ...Trying to boot from Compact Flash ...Trying to boot from Hard disk ..." and refuse to go any further. I think I need a recovery image, it is a bootable image, right? It should boot Juniper up?

#4 ExamFerret

ExamFerret

    Cisco TE

  • Super Moderators
  • 25 posts
  • 52274 thanks

Posted 08 November 2012 - 10:52 AM

The M20 is a pretty old router, I've not used one myself! In my opinion your best bet would be to try dd'ing an install image to your PCMCIA card using a separate PC. This guy seems to have got the right parameters for getting the image copied, of course you'll not be using the JunOS shell when you do it!

http://forums.juniper.net/t5/Junos-and-Junosphere/Fail-to-make-bootable-PCMCIA-for-M20/td-p/13188

What size is the PCMCIA card? 512MB?
Do you have a PC that can dd to the card?

You can get the very latest JunOS install image for M20's here:
Hidden Content
You'll be able to see the hidden content once you press the thanks button.

Good luck!
Do not post useless "thank you" post.

If you want to see the content of the hidden links
Please use the "Thanks" button as shown in the announcements
http://certcollection.org/forum/topic/99091-new-feature-added/

All following useless "thank you" will be removed.

Thanked by 30 Members:

#5 netxhh

netxhh

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 0 posts
  • 1 thanks

Posted 08 November 2012 - 09:30 PM

Thanks. That guy built a bootable flash card from a working Juniper I think.  The "/zero" option of dd seems is the key to make the flash bootable. My problem is my Juniper is totally un-bootable. Wondering how I can make a flash bootable from a PC.

Edited by netxhh, 08 November 2012 - 09:31 PM.


#6 ExamFerret

ExamFerret

    Cisco TE

  • Super Moderators
  • 25 posts
  • 52274 thanks

Posted 08 November 2012 - 10:44 PM

You're going to need some kind of PCMCIA slot to USB adaptor probably. Did you say the M20 has a Compact Flash slot?
Do not post useless "thank you" post.

If you want to see the content of the hidden links
Please use the "Thanks" button as shown in the announcements
http://certcollection.org/forum/topic/99091-new-feature-added/

All following useless "thank you" will be removed.

#7 netxhh

netxhh

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 0 posts
  • 1 thanks

Posted 12 November 2012 - 07:13 PM

The router has a PCMICIA slot (bigger than a compact flash card), I have two compact flash cards: a 256M and a 1GM, and a CompactFlash PC Card Adapter which can hold a compact flash card. I can insert the adapter into the router.

Also I have a few FlashDisk PCMCIA PC Card ATA: 256M,512M,1G,2G.

I guess I need to boot up a laptop (one has a PCMCIA slot) with FreeBSD, then make a bootable flash card there.

Edited by netxhh, 12 November 2012 - 07:14 PM.


#8 ExamFerret

ExamFerret

    Cisco TE

  • Super Moderators
  • 25 posts
  • 52274 thanks

Posted 13 November 2012 - 09:55 AM

Sounds like a plan! You can probably use Linux for dd'ing the image too. Let us know how it goes :)
Do not post useless "thank you" post.

If you want to see the content of the hidden links
Please use the "Thanks" button as shown in the announcements
http://certcollection.org/forum/topic/99091-new-feature-added/

All following useless "thank you" will be removed.

#9 wanzxj

wanzxj

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 74 posts
  • 4142 thanks

Posted 13 November 2012 - 06:12 PM

hi, ExamFerret,can you provide jinstall version ,thanks!!!!

#10 ExamFerret

ExamFerret

    Cisco TE

  • Super Moderators
  • 25 posts
  • 52274 thanks

Posted 14 November 2012 - 09:21 AM

View Postwanzxj, on 13 November 2012 - 06:12 PM, said:

hi, ExamFerret,can you provide jinstall version ,thanks!!!!
jinstall-12.2R1.8-domestic-signed.tgz can be downloaded here:
Hidden Content
You'll be able to see the hidden content once you press the thanks button.

Do not post useless "thank you" post.

If you want to see the content of the hidden links
Please use the "Thanks" button as shown in the announcements
http://certcollection.org/forum/topic/99091-new-feature-added/

All following useless "thank you" will be removed.

Thanked by 19 Members:
kkiyong , masterjack , sloaf , theoj06 , synackdj , wangqiang , voipde , cyborgz , kechik , dws , guogang , TimeReversal , qwe1234 , eiken , r2d2 , boatzhang , Alex131089 , downtemplate , wanzxj

#11 netxhh

netxhh

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 0 posts
  • 1 thanks

Posted 14 November 2012 - 09:59 PM

Finally made a bootable flash card. I found a laptop with pcmcia slot, boot it with freebsd, then use dd copied install-media img to a 1G flash card. But after booting up the Juniper, it cannot install jbundle because no enough space. How to solve this? I think 1G is enough.

Installing JUNOS on ad0...
Warning: Block size restricts cylinders per group to 93.
Adding jbase...
Mounted jbase on /mnt/packages/mnt/jbase (/dev/vn0)
Adding jbundle-7.6R2.6-domestic.tgz...
pkg_add: find_play_pen: can't find enough temporary space to extract the files, please set your
PKG_TMPDIR environment variable to a location with at least 293759180 bytes
free
ERROR: addpackage: error during pkg_add /var/tmp/jbundle-7.6R2.6-domestic.tgz
You are now in a debugging subshell (you may not see a prompt)...
# set

#12 ExamFerret

ExamFerret

    Cisco TE

  • Super Moderators
  • 25 posts
  • 52274 thanks

Posted 15 November 2012 - 08:56 AM

Not sure what the commands are from the shell you'll have, but you're going to need to delete some stuff in /var/tmp/ and try the process again.

How come you're using an old jbundle package? They're usually meant for upgrades.
Do not post useless "thank you" post.

If you want to see the content of the hidden links
Please use the "Thanks" button as shown in the announcements
http://certcollection.org/forum/topic/99091-new-feature-added/

All following useless "thank you" will be removed.

#13 netxhh

netxhh

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 0 posts
  • 1 thanks

Posted 15 November 2012 - 04:45 PM

I think the jbunble package is from the install-media image. I'll try newer install-media image you provided above.

The weird thing is there is no /var/tmp:
# ls /var/tmp
ls: /var/tmp: No such file or directory
#

Edited by netxhh, 15 November 2012 - 05:20 PM.


#14 ExamFerret

ExamFerret

    Cisco TE

  • Super Moderators
  • 25 posts
  • 52274 thanks

Posted 15 November 2012 - 05:15 PM

Hmm, see in the JunOS shell you could just do a 'request system storage cleanup' but I don't know is there's an equivalent in the recovery shell. Can you post the output from 'ls -al'
Do not post useless "thank you" post.

If you want to see the content of the hidden links
Please use the "Thanks" button as shown in the announcements
http://certcollection.org/forum/topic/99091-new-feature-added/

All following useless "thank you" will be removed.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Organization

Community

Downloads

Test Providers

Site Info


Go to top