7 replies to this topic

#1 dexinthecity

dexinthecity

• Members
  • Pip
  • 0 posts
  • 0 thanks

Posted 26 January 2013 - 03:38 PM

Okay so before I get into the nitty gritty here's a little background about me. I'm 25 years old, after high school I joined the Marine Corps did 4 years and got out to start going to school. I got out in 2009 and since then I've been on the path to getting a Bachelors in Business. I will be at the end of that path next winter. Right now I'm a full time student working for AT&T as a Uverse Technician. I meet a lot of people in my job, Uverse Technicians(Premises Technician) are essentially the face of AT&T.

The other day I met someone that works for a company called Mandiant (information security company) and we got to talking about the IT world, how he got where he is now. I've always had a keen interest in IT. We had a good conversation about it and it totally had me thinking twice about my educational path.

Now as mentioned before I'm a little over half way with my Bachelors in Business but I was thinking of switching over to Information Technology and just getting an Associates and working on my certifications in the IT world and eventually getting a Bachelors in IT.

OR I can keep on track with my BA in Business and at the same time take side classes to get an Associates in Information Technology since I've already got all my general education courses done and would just need to take the core classes for IT and at the same time work on getting some certifications.

Would like your opinion on what path should I take?

#2 crackerjoe69

crackerjoe69

Geek

• Senior Super Moderators
  • 3,573 posts
  • 27670 thanks

Posted 26 January 2013 - 03:49 PM

Most likely very little of your business credits will count towards an IT degree, unless it's a BA program.